Parent Questions

Okay guys, I have approximately 10 weeks left and I’m starting to freak a little. I’m trying to figure out what I need and how to get it. SO… help me out a little here, if you can, and give me some answers to some pressing questions I have.
1. Did you use a travel system? If so, did you like it? Could you have lived without it? Did you use it often, and how long did it last you?
2. Did you use a diaper pail, like Diaper Genie? Did you like it?
3. How about getting around with the baby? Did you use a carrier, sling, or anything like that? What kind, how much, and did you like it?
4. Do you think starting off with a convertible car seat is a good move? The only thing I’m thinking is that it may be easier to have the travel system for a while…
5. For bottle feeding, did you use anything special? Anything you liked or couldn’t live without?
6. Did you ever have your baby sleep with you? Did you use one of those special in bed sleeper guard things, and did you like it?
7. Did you have sun shades in your car?
8. What is the one thing you COULD NOT live without in the first year or so? Why?

Thanks for your help. Like I said, I’m getting a little crazy. πŸ™‚
3:47 PM – 7 Comments – 5 Kudos – Add CommentEditRemove
Jess
1)What is a travel system?2)LOVE MY DIAPER GENIE! Especially since we have dogs! Get it!3) Used an over the shoulder sling for the first 12 weeks of Max’s life…it reminded him of being on the inside I think…when he was in there I got peace! : D4)We have a car seat that sets in a pod in the car and fits in a stroller and we LOVE it! It is wonderful! The car seat snaps into carts while shopping and snaps into the stroller for walking. LOVE IT! 5)DR. BROWN’S Bottle’s are the best! No burp problems or upset tummy’s! 6)Max slept with me all the time because other wise I didn’t sleep. I kicked my husband out…he slept in our guest room and moved the baby in. Yes, we bought one of the GRACO net bedside things that has the bars that slide under the matress. It was $1.50 at the thrift store next to Savers in St. Cloud. 7) We have a sun shade…it does not stay up. : (8) I could not live without:For Me: When you come home from the hospital have tuck’s pads. Buy them in the medical section at Coborn’s by the band-aids…they help. For Max: a pack of cloth diapers to use as spit up cloths and onsies. YOU WILL BE FINE! REPEAT AFTER ME…I WILL BE FINE! : D
Posted by Jess on May 14, 2008 – Wednesday 9:54 PM [Remove] [Reply to this]
Josie
I WILL BE FINE….lolVery helpful. Travel system is basically what you described in number 4…. stroller/car seat/base combo.Good point on the diaper genie + dogs comment…. good to know!You’ve been awesome… I still have the emails you sent me MONTHS ago, too, with the lists of things I need! πŸ™‚ I use it when making shopping lists! Thank you so much!
Posted by Josie on May 14, 2008 – Wednesday 10:00 PM [Remove] [Reply to this]
Cassi
1. We loved the travel system. It was nice because of the infant seat and now we can use the stroller without. :)2. I’ve never used a diaper pail. I think it’s a waste of money. As long as you throw diapers away in the trash, that’s all you’re really doing anyway. Betty Jo (my boss) never used one either. BUT Julie Ann (my old boss) had one in each of the kids’ rooms. It was a pain in the ass to lug those dirty diapers (they get HEAVY) down to the trash every other day. Again, Kerry and I agreed they were a waste of money. BUT I will say that they take care of the smell somewhat. :)3. I never used a sling, but I didn’t really do a lot of cleaning, working or such when he was awake anyhow. 4. No. Starting with the convertible seat, you would need to find something to tote Baby around in the grocery store, shopping, ANYWHERE you go for the first 3-5 months before Baby can sit up on his own. You can’t take the convertible seat in with you, it stays in your car. THAT’s where the handiness of the travel system comes in, most infant seats nowadays are shopping cart friendly and you save money buying the seat/stroller combo.5. I used AVENT bottles. I LOVE THEM. One problem is that if they get liquid in between the nipple and top they leak. With the Brown’s bottles though, you have like 6 parts to wash every time. So unless you’ve got a dishwasher, that’s a lot of dishes to do. 😦 Avent and Browns are both good for upset tummies, also Kerry’s mom SWORE by the Playtex bottles. So really, whichever brand you buy, you’ll be fine. Also there’s bottle vs. the bags. We used to the bags every once in a while when he was young. They’re okay. You still have bottles to wash etc, I personally didn’t see a need for them, but I can see how to some parents they can be convenient. I’m sure I’m not really helping you on this one, but EVERY ONE is different when it comes to bottles. I personally love the Avent brand. πŸ™‚ ALSO on that note: are you planning on nuks? IF so, there’s a million brands of those too. You just won’t know until baby is born which one BABY prefers. Some moms buy one of each brand and try out what’s best, some just buy one brand period and Baby just adapts. 6. Yes, I did have Kevin sleep with me every once in a while. When I was up at the cabin, I used a bed sleeper (I have one you can borrow) I liked it. But he mainly slept in his crib/pack-in-play/bouncer chair/swing. If he was really fussy at night to get some extra sleep I would just bring him in and he’d sleep right next to me. They say that it’s not “good for the baby” there are issues that could arise (ie rolling over on him) but I’m such a light sleeper, so….7. I did have sunshades, they fell down. Kerry has tinted windows. A lot of times when he was an infant, I just put a light blanket over and had his sunshade on the carseat up, so the blanket wasn’t ON him on him, just over him. But I would still buy the sun shades. 8. You know I don’t think there was any one particular item I could NOT live without. A lot of the things we had: swing, bouncer seat, pack-in-play, etc were more conveniences than nesseceties. If you want your life to be EASIER, you get this stuff. Otherwise you CAN live without them. Some moms SWEAR by playing soft music for Baby to go to sleep to, I personally have never really had a problem putting Kevin to bed (‘cept for that little bump in MD). I was lucky. Just laid him down and he’d go to sleep on his own. Some moms SWEAR by the carriers. Some moms believe in the sleeping schedule. To be 100% honest, Kevin put HIMSELF on his own schedule…as most babies will if you let them. Just follow their lead. Feed them when they’re hungry (typically every 2-4 hours the first few months, then every 4 later like 6-9 months they’re down to 3 times a day), put them down when they’re tired, etc etc. I personally believe in letting children set their own schedules, but babies are VERYadaptable so if you feel you want them on your schedule feel free. :)And I completely agree with Jess: YOU WILL BE FINE. Lol. It does get a little crazy with a baby, but hey isn’t that why we get pregnant? Lol. Hope this helps, but unfortunately you just won’t know until baby is here. :(Love you! And Good Luck!!
Posted by Cassi on May 15, 2008 – Thursday 6:26 AM [Remove] [Reply to this]
Matt the punching bag…
ask Shawna, I got nothing…
Posted by Matt the punching bag… on May 15, 2008 – Thursday 9:15 AM [Remove] [Reply to this]
Jenn
1. We got a travel system for Clair and it was awesome . we never had to wake her up to get in or out of the car and they can stay napping in them if you need some peace. we can still use our infant seat now clair is 10 months. I use our stroller all the time.If you get a travel system( I suggest it) get one that can adjust/tighten the straps in the front I have an evenflo but I like the chico or graco better. I would not skimp on your infant seat and stroller. make sure you like it. we also got the extra base to go with it. life saver.2. We used the diaper champ. you can get it at target. I like it because you can use regular trash bags. you dont have to buy special bags like the diaper genie.3. We used the carrier/carset. it was too hot for me to have her super close when we were out side( she liked to be swadled though. 4. I really think the travel system was easier because when it gets cold you dont have to put the baby into a cold carseat in the car. There arenite infant carier covers you can use with the infant seats.5. we started out with the walmart cheapie bottles then moved to the Avent bottles (I dont like them, they leak if the top is not on right) we now use the playtex nurser systems because they colapse when the liquid is sucked out and the bottle liners are always sterile. I an not a fan of the dr. brown bottles. they can get expensive. It comes down to the baby what does the baby like. we did not but many untill we found out what she liked to use. different babies do better on different bottles. I dispise the vent air bottles they leak after being washed a ton of times. ( I have learned they work because I work at a daycare in the infant and toddler rooms).6. I did not want her to sleep with us I did not want to roll over on her and it helped us stay close at night when that was the only time we got for ourselves. now she sleeps so well in her own bed she loves having her own space and i did not have to get her transitioned out of our bed.7.I love my sunshades I dont know what I would do w/o them. I have the stick ons that are like window tint. they wont flip up when they are bumped.8. I loved the quilted cloth diapers for spit up rags. you can yse them for burp rags or to put under baby when ypu are in a store or resturant. those fold down beds can be nasty. I loved having a good swing we could let her sleep in it we started her solids in it( used it like a chair). she held her bottles by herself in it and it let me sleep. (be careful to find one that will hold a larger baby ours goes up to 22-25 pounds.) I LOVE our Mega Saucer. it keept her busy so I could get some things done around her. I never had to worry about stepping on her when I was vaccuming around her. she loved(s) bing in it. MOSTLY haivng really good friends around to call or come over to give you a break (sometimes i prefered friends over family).
Posted by Jenn on May 15, 2008 – Thursday 7:10 PM [Remove] [Reply to this]
Jenn
you will be fine just let your baby let you know what it needs. they tell you what they need , like and dislike. our doctor suggested to us to have her sleep on her own and not get up at every whimper (at night) wait until she is really ready/crying. it was great advice FOR ME because it helped get her on a good eating schedule . she ate more during the day and whe was sleeping through the night at 5 weeks. every baby is different you will know what you like and the baby will be loved.it will all be ok. you have tons of friends who are here for you.
Posted by Jenn on May 15, 2008 – Thursday 7:19 PM [Remove] [Reply to this]
Cassi
Go Jenn! Your advise was awesome and I totally agree with you. BABY WILL TELL YOU WHAT HE LIKES. Lol. We can’t tell her enough. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

