Career? Death? Where Am I Headed?

Eh, this is going to be one of those multi-topic, babbling style blogs. And boy, if there’s anyone good at babbling, it’s the two people sitting in front of this computer right now. (That would be Ollie and me…)

So today I got this brilliant thought that perhaps I should while taking my nursing classes, take the course to become a doula. If you don’t know what a doula is, they are basically like a labor coach, there to help you with your family/significant other/etc. It is similar to real estate school – intense, short courses to get you licensed ASAP. There is only one remotely near here, and she’s in Cambridge. (And I didn’t know about her… so I don’t know how hard she’s workin’ it out there.) This could help me in a number of ways. I would be sure this is what I want to do, to a further extent. (Doulas aren’t sticking thier entire arms up vaginas… midwives do. But I’ll get a rough idea.) I would kind of get to do what I want to do, and help people, which is fun. And it will also give me some labor and delivery experience, which may help to get me into L&D once I have the RN licensure. I need a year of L&D as a prereq for the midwifery master’s certificate… which yes, is a while away, but hey, a head start would be a good thing. The faster I can make things go, the better. So that’s a possibility down the road.
I am so sick, people. Although I am not as bad as last November, and I can take medicine this time. My house is a pig sty. Because I am sick and have a valid reason, I am willing to share this lovely photo of my kitchen counter with you.

Horrible, isn’t it? You can’t see the three bottles of cough syrup on the corner. But you can definitely tell that we feel like dying.

Here! Another!

Cough syrup, disinfecting wipes, Ollie’s formula and gas drops, an apple and apple corer, tabasco sauce (wow, we are interesting.) Cool whip containers that are CLEAN, from when I made snicker salad for Gus’ confirmation. Pizza cutter, scissors, random pill packages, a bib, and Sunsilk Hydra TLC cream. Priorities, people. Just because I’m nearly dead doesn’t mean my hair needs to look like it.

Ollie is funny. He can be crabby/fussy, and I turn on music and he stops, smiles, and starts laughing. Then he’s happy. What a dork.

They also say as babies get older, they start to eat less frequently, but more amounts. OMG am I noticing it lately. With the infusion of cereal into his diet, he now eats about 1/4 a cup of cereal twice a day. Immediately when he wakes up he eats 8 oz. of formula, sleeps for another two hours, then eats another 8. He plays for a while, then takes 16. Sleeps, eats another 8. Before bed he easily puts down 16 oz again. And that’s WITH all that cereal.

He’s like a pro at eating the cereal now. I think we might try a veggie this week. So much fun!

Wow… I think he might fall asleep since I turned on the music. I suppose, it’s his nap time. He’s got a pretty consistent schedule overall when left to his own devices. Obviously if we are out and about during the day he gets a little messed up, but he’s gotten a lot better about that, too. He stays awake in the car when it’s awake time… he just talks a lot, plays with his hands, or eats poor Mr. Giraffe.

Have you met Mr. Giraffe? Poor dude. He gets chewed on constantly. See him, all yellow, next to the chair on the end table? Funny story. I went to Walmart with my parents, and my dad was carrying Ollie, who apparantly got excited when he walked by the crane machine. (I was behind my dad, and I didn’t see it, but whatever…) So my dad proceeded to pull out his wallet (which is bottomless when it comes to Ollie.) and hand my mom money to win something out of the machine. This in itself is a hilarious joke, because my mom never wins anything. Really. And a crane machine? HA!

Second try, out comes Mr. Giraffe. The family laughs about it. Anyway, Ollie’s totally in love. He goes pretty much everywhere, and Ollie tells him pretty much everything. Mr. Fishy is a close second.

Oh, poor Ollie! Yesterday morning Nick went to get him when he woke up, and Nick took off Ollie’s jammies to change his diaper, and he had a tick on him! So we’re watching him really carefully. It was a deer tick, and definitely stuck in him. He has a little red spot there, but I’m so scared. I think I’ll call his doctor on Monday and see what she wants me to do. Last thing I want is for him to get really sick! I don’t know where that came from. It wasn’t on him before he went to bed, I know that for sure. I know sometimes Lucky will go back to Ollie’s room and curl up during the day – perhaps it came from him. Stupid ticks. You would think they would be dead this time of year, but we’re still finding them on the dogs.

Anyway, I do love babbling about nothing, and I’m sure there’s plenty more I can think of to say, but I’m going to go wash bottles. I have one left… all the rest are piled in the sink. And I think I’ll give Ollie a bath, too. Hopefully then he will crash for a little bit, so I can do the same.

Leave a Reply

