Monday

First, I have to throw this out there.

Dear Mother of Two in the Target Parking Lot –

I could do nothing less than deeply sympathize with your plight in the middle of the Target parking lot in Cambridge earlier this afternoon.  As I watched what I presume to be roughly a three year old boy stare you down as he slowly stepped backwards away from you, I instantly felt a connection.  After all, it was like looking in a mirror.  Well, in a mirror on a day where my kids were with me and not at home with my sick husband.

You stood your ground, and I commend you, Mother of Two!  You insisted that he return to you, and were scanning and watching to make sure he wasn’t backing into danger (because after all, he wasn’t looking where he was going, just giving you the stare down).  Eventually you emerged victorious, never stepping a foot towards him.  Congratulations, mom.  You rock!

Sincerely,

Fellow mother of a “spirited” little boy.

Okay, now onto usual business.

I came home today to two kids napping and my husband waiting patiently for death.  How I have made it this far without getting sick, I may never know.  But as I settled in (Lying on the bed wishing I could get a nap but far too caffeinated to fall asleep), my son started waking up.  And when I heard Ollie knock on his door through his monitor and say “Mommy, where are you?” I melted.  Awwwww….. he missed me!  So what do I do?  Go running to his arms?  Pick him up and smother him in kisses?

No.

I continued to lie there and listen to him.

Oh, come on.  You know you have done it at least once.  He continued.  “Mommy, come get me!  Mommy, are you at work?  Moooooommmmmmmmmyyyyyyyyyyy where areeeeeeeeeeeeee youuuuuuuuu????”

Eventually Nick and I wandered down the hallway, where we dropped to the floor and crawled to the end, peeking under his doorway.  He either heard or spotted us, and immediately did the same.  He was so excited to see me!  He came out and gave me a big hug.  I love that kid.

Then he proceeded to run past both of us, bust through Emmie’s door and scream.  Thanks a lot, Ollie.

Emmie was excited to see me, too, mauling my face like she does when she’s excited.

Overall, it was a nice day to come home to my kids.  They’re pretty wonderful.

Leave a Reply

