A Bad Treat

We took Ollie trick or treating for Halloween and had a pretty good time.  There is one thing, however, that still has me mad – even days later.

We went to a house that gave Ollie a little booklet.  I wasn’t that worried about it – I figured it was probably something religious, but that’s fine with me.  I didn’t have a problem with it.

That night when we got home, I pulled out what turned out to be a little comic book.  It had a slip of paper in it telling us to vote for the Republicans, and listing each candidate out.  Okay, so that seemed kind of silly – these are kids, they can’t vote anyway, but whatever.  To each their own.

Then I started reading the comic.  It was a comic about a man who was dying and wasn’t very nice.  He is in the hospital, and his roommate tries to get the man to accept the Lord.  I wouldn’t have had a problem with this…. if that was all it was.  But throughout the comic book, to display just how “bad” the man is, he swears on nearly every single page!  Some of it was all symbols, but a few of the words were started, so you could easily figure out what words they were. 

Then I get to the page where the roommate asks the man if he “knows anything about love”.  The “evil” man responds “Sex?  Yeah, I know a lot about that.”

Wait, what?

So let me get this straight.  A bunch of conservative Christians just gave my two year old a comic book with a boatload of expletives and the mention of sex?

THAT I have a problem with.  I think it is highly inappropriate to hand such literature out to a two year old.  It’s not like I’m taking my kid freakishly young – there were lots of kids even younger than him out that night. 

I’m still mad about it.  I suppose Ollie can’t read, but I could read when I was three – do I magically think that such literature would be acceptable for Ollie in a year?  No.  Nor would it be acceptable at 4, 5, or 6.  Luckily I do know that I will be checking Ollie’s bag every year before he gets it.  Will I automatically chuck out literature?  No.  Will I throw away Christian literature?  No.  But I will certainly be reading it before I give it to my kid, because apparently just because it’s Christian doesn’t mean that it is acceptable reading for kids.

Any other moms have anything similar happen?  Any thoughts?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Stearns-Montgomery & Proctor
    Nov 22, 2010 @ 19:30:44

    I'm sure many people wouldn't have even noticed. . . You're a good mom for being on the look out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

