My Kid Ain’t No Dummy!

In the last two weeks, I’ve been slightly concerned with the activities my son has been partaking in.

Monday morning I woke up to a strange noise.  I walked out into the living room to find Ollie standing on a kitchen chair that he pushed over to the thermostat, thermostat open, trying to pull the batteries out.

Then began the goldfish wars.  Since his sister now eats well out of a snack cup, I give them each a snack cup in the afternoons.  Ollie snorfs his food down like he’s never eaten before, and Emmie eats slowly, one piece at a time. 

Tuesday afternoon Ollie decided that he would try to just switch snack cups with her.  I caught him in the act.

Wednesday afternoon he took both lids off, and was dumping her goldfish into his bowl.  I again caught him.  Yet he acted so innocent.

Thursday he was clever at daycare.  I didn’t hear any entire stories, just that he was “busy” all day.

Today, however, takes the cake.  I went walking past the dining room table and suddenly noticed it was covered in pink marker scribblings.  Ollie has a few Crayolas, but I don’t know when or how he got it out, much less colored the table.  I have yet to figure out how some of this stuff happens in the few moments that I look away – but he’s sure getting better at it!

I wiped up the table and Nick pulled in.  I told him what happened, and he immediately kneeled down by Ollie to ask him where the marker was.  There was a lot of shuffling, a lot of attempting to distract us, and he tried to convince us that the marker was in a number of different places.  Finally he pointed to the couch cushion and said “in there”. 

First we lifted the couch.  Not there.  He pointed again to the end of the couch cushion and said “in there”.  Yet it wasn’t there.  Nick started searching the couch, and found the marker finally buried between the center back cushion and the other cushions, cap off – and it was pink.

He scares me.  He really scares me.

Leave a Reply

