Why I Have Resumed Locking My Kid Up At Night

My Wednesday was eventful.  I was woken from my sleep semi-early for my kid – a little before 7, and his little 2 and a half year old brown eyes were just beaming at me.  I slid out of bed reluctantly, and began the morning routine of milk, cereal, and then preparing a bottle for Emmie.  I set the table for Ollie, and heard his sister making noise in her room, so I head towards the hallway to go get her for breakfast. 

I stopped, slightly confused when my foot went ‘squish’.

I panicked when I heard water rushing.

I screamed for my husband when I saw water pouring – and I mean POURING – out from underneath the closed bathroom door. 

I whipped open the door, honestly expecting an overflowing toilet, but was greeted by an overflowing sink, with the faucet on full blast.  And a ton of water.  TONS.

The good part for my son is that we were so freaked out and worried about what to do, that we didn’t have time to get really mad at him.  He got off kind of easy, considering the circumstances.

Further examination showed that Ollie decided to brush his teeth before waking us up.  He dropped the cap of his toddler toothpaste down the drain, which competely blocked it.  He also at some point squirted the entire tube worth of toothpaste down the drain, as well.  Then he decided to try to pull the cap out, which resulted in him breaking the whole drain assembly.

He then left the water running, for whatever reason that probably made some kind of crazy sense in a toddler’s head, and then shut the door, so mom would never know what happened…. right?

Wrong.

I’ve never been more thankful that I bought a Bissell carpet shampooer a few years ago after a closing.  We started with that, sucking up as much water as we could out of the carpet.  I think if there was one thing we did wrong, it was worrying more about the carpet in the hallway than the bathroom, because the water poured down the heat duct in there.  Because our house is on a crawl space (no basement), we now have a boatload of insulation that pretty much froze instantly, because it was -20 degrees and the water leaked out somewhere in a joint.  Fantastic.

Anyway, we pulled the carpet up after we got it somewhat dry (and I should add that I wash my carpets regularly, but a “deep clean” by flooding results in some SERIOUSLY dirty carpet water) and discovered linoleum underneath, which made us feel a little better.  The subflooring is okay!  Luckily we acted fast enough on most of it that other than replacing some insulation, a drain assembly, and maybe some carpet, we’re going to be okay.

We did estimate that we pulled approximately 12 gallons of water out of the carpet with the shampooer before we pulled the carpet up.

I learned a very important lesson.  A door knob safety cover on the inside of my son’s door is a necessity.  Who knows what else he would do in the middle of the night!

I guess potty priviledges at night have been revoked.  (And I was totally stoked about his progress in that!)

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. andy capelluto
    Feb 11, 2011 @ 01:07:05

    little children – little problems – big children – big problems
    as long as everyone is OK – that’s the most important. Welcome to the wonderful world of rearing boys 🙂

    Reply

  2. steeleofalifetime
    Feb 11, 2011 @ 01:18:31

    LOL. Ah, what I have to look forward to…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

